Knowing Where to Tap

All day I’ve had my eyes and fingers glued to my computer trying to resolve some issue on my website. Hours and hours I put in, with my characteristic  I think I ‘can do’ attitude, but i just couldn’t sort it out.

So, I went over to get some advise from the WordPress Forum and in not more than two minutes, the problem was solved. I immediately recalled a 18th century story about a British Ship…

Many years ago, the engine of a large giant shut down. The Captain of the ship invited one ship engineer after the other, but none of them could fix the engine. Then someone recommended an old man who had been fixing ships for a long time. He came in with his bag of tools and inspected the engine thoroughly.  The owners of the ship were watching him. The old man opened his bag and brought out a  small hammer. He gently tapped something and the engine revved back to life. He replaced his hammer and walked away with the ship owners watching with gratitude.

A week later, the owners received a bill from the old man for $10,000.

“This is a rip off.” the owners exclaimed. “What did he do that should cost so much?” They immediately ask the old man for a breakdown of the his bill.

Here’s what he wrote:

Tapping with a hammer……………………………..$2
Knowing where to tap…………………………..$9998

About dupeolorunjo

author
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

